Connect with us

Entrepreneur

National Bubble Tea Day Celebrants May Want to Pause Festivities Due to Shortage

The past year has led to supply chain issues for boba and other restaurant staples.

Published

on

The past year has led to supply chain issues for boba and other restaurant staples.

Find Your Ideal Franchise

Complete our short franchise quiz to discover the franchise that’s right for you.

April 30, 2021 2 min read

While various bubble tea companies are offering promotionals in honor of National Bubble Tea Day, some establishments are starting to worry about future supply.

Boba pearls, the chewy tapioca balls commonly used for bubble tea, have become one of the latest of many shortages blamed on the COVID-19 pandemic. Delays in exports from Asia have been cited as one of the main reasons, as cargo ships are unable to dock due to logistical issues.

In states like California and Michigan, where bubble tea is the most popular delivery order, the lack of boba is concerning for some storeowners. According to NPR, the shortage could even stretch into the summer.

“Some boba shops are already out. Others will run out in the next few weeks. 99% of boba comes from overseas,” bubble tea company Boba Guys wrote in an Instagram post on April 8.

Boba isn’t the only item in short supply due to the pandemic. Perhaps due to a 287% increase in popularity from last year, restaurants are struggling to meet chicken wing demand with supply. A February article from Restaurant Business Online found that the average price for a pound of chicken wings was $2.65, whereas the price was $1.81 the year prior.

Restaurants are also suffering from ketchup-packet shortages, as The Wall Street Journal reported that packet prices have increased 13% since last January. To keep up with such heavy demand, ketchup supplier Heinz promised to increase production by 25%. But the packets have been so sought-after that some people have turned to ecommerce platforms like eBay to sell them.

Beyond food items, some establishments are struggling to find material such as glass and plastic as pandemic habits have upended pre-COVID supply-and-demand levels. Marketwatch reports that plastic product prices have reached their highest levels in years in the U.S. as supplies tighten. In West Michigan, a shortage of glass pickle containers even delayed the release of Burger King’s chicken sandwiches.

Related: Semiconductor Industry Set To Benefit From Global Chip Shortage

Source: http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/entrepreneur/latest/~3/HurM9wsruns/370361

national-bubble-tea-day-celebrants-may-want-to-pause-festivities-due-to-shortage

Entrepreneur

Let Go of Assumptions and Reset Your Brand Mindset

Many small businesses make the mistake of trying to please everyone. You can’t, so stop trying.

Published

on

Many small businesses make the mistake of trying to please everyone. You can’t, so stop trying.

Franchise Your Business

Schedule a FREE one-on-one session with one of our Franchise Advisors today and we’ll help you start building your franchise organization.

May 13, 2021 4 min read

Opinions expressed by Entrepreneur contributors are their own.

The following is an excerpt from Sean and Thora Dowdell’s Brand Renegages: Our Fearless Path From Startup to Global Brand, out May 25 on Entrepreneur Press. Pre-order it now via Amazon | Barnes & Noble | IndieBound | Bookshop. Find out more about Sean and Thora at ClubTattoo.com.

Small-business owners make several common misguided assumptions about branding, including:

  • Small businesses do not have brand recognition.
  • My business is too small to be a brand.
  • There are so many competitors in our industry that striving for individuality is pointless.
  • Having the lowest price is the only thing that matters to my customers.

Do you recognize any of these assumptions in your own mindset? If so, your thought process may be a bit misguided. It took several years in business for us to start to recognize these limiting mindsets. We didn’t realize that we could truly stand out as a national brand from other tattoo companies.

Related: To Build a Powerful Brand, Begin on the Inside and Move Out

We started out small, but eventually realized that we could become a recognizable brand that people sought out based on how they related to us and not simply because we were the closest or cheapest. We knew that we had created something different within our industry when we realized that most of our clients were women.

We made a conscious choice when we opened Club Tattoo to disassociate ourselves from the stereotypical image of tattoo and piercing parlors as dark, dingy and dirty. We didn’t put up old, grubby and outdated art on the walls, like most of our competitors at the time. We created a brightly lit interior with a roomy lobby and put the art designs into neat books that were laid out nicely onto our lobby tables.

We were an upscale “studio” rather than a “parlor,” and our clients could see we were different from the moment they walked in the door. Do you feel that your company could benefit from branding itself differently? Before you dive into figuring out what your brand is, ask yourself what you want out of your brand. You should know the answers to the following questions so you can create a solid strategy that will help you achieve your desired outcome.

So what’s your goal? Ideally you might want all these things, but what is your priority? Pick one, start with a goal, and build a strategy to accomplish it. Do you want to:

  • Make more money?
  • Stand out from your competitors?
  • Be more consistent?
  • Be more effective?
  • Be better appreciated by your clients?
  • Make a difference in the world?

Related: Treat Your Brand Like a Relationship: 8 Ways to Reignite the Romance

Many small businesses make the mistake of trying to please everyone. You can’t, so stop trying. We had to come to this realization quite early when some clients would come in and expect us to price match with our competitors down the street. When we refused, we had angry customers on our hands. Nobody wants that, but we had to decide who our clients were going to be.

We chose to be an upscale experience, and we made it clear to our clients that we were not going to be the least expensive choice in the market. But we knew who our target audience was, and we had a fairly good idea of how to get in front of them. In the end, we helped our entire industry change their approach to business as a result.

  • Small businesses do not have brand recognition.
  • My business is too small to be a brand.
  • There are so many competitors in our industry that striving for individuality is pointless.
  • Having the lowest price is the only thing that matters to my customers.

Source: http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/entrepreneur/latest/~3/AS0YFlsB_U0/371877

let-go-of-assumptions-and-reset-your-brand-mindset

Continue Reading

Entrepreneur

How a Big Idea and a Big Heart Can Come Together for Big Success

Inside the launch of a company that aims to make dental care better and safer for all.

Published

on

Inside the launch of a company that aims to make dental care better and safer for all.

May 12, 2021 4 min read

Opinions expressed by Entrepreneur contributors are their own.

Tara Tan is a New Zealand-based founder and CEO of Grin Natural, an all-natural oral care brand that’s bringing innovation to the beauty category while inspiring more sustainable choices to consumers around the world. Tara studied at the University of Auckland and graduated with a Master of Commerce, majoring in finance.

Her own life journey as an Asian mother sparked Tara’s commitment to bringing much-needed change to the industry due to concern about the oral care products her daughter will be exposed to and the belief that all parents deserve access to more environmentally friendly solutions.

In a recent interview on Medium, the entrepreneur described two factors that inspired her to start Grin Natural Products…

Notice an un-tapped niche

“My husband and I were anticipating our first baby. We began hunting for natural, safe products for us to consume and feel good about using. We noticed that we could not find a toothpaste that was effective yet toxic-free such as artificial flavors, sweeteners, parabens and sulfates—so we set out to make one.”

Be aware of every demo

“When we started, our goal was to create the best toothpaste that not only we would be proud to use, but our next generation, would love, too! As a mum, you find yourself not only thinking about your own child, but you also want to look after everyone as well as the planet. We’re all humans and part of this one ecosystem; we need to support each other to live happier lives together.”
Related: Take Care of Your Teeth With This Amazon’s Choice Oral Hygiene Set

Immediate accolades & plenty of partnerships

Grin Natural products appeared live on the Today Show with Hoda Kotb and Jenna Bush Hager within just weeks of launching into the US Markets. They were additionally, awarded, via half a million votes, top spot in the NZ Best In Beauty contest in the best natural beauty product, best innovation, and best sustainability champion categories.

Over the past five years, Tara has successfully managed the Grin brand’s growth, launching into eight international markets and building social good partnerships with some of the world’s most respectable organizations including UNICEF, PADI, UN Environment Programme and Baby2Baby, (a Los Angeles-based, national non-profit organization that provides children living in poverty with diapers and clothing).
Related: 7 Electric Toothbrushes for Healthier-Looking Teeth

“We are so grateful to Grin Natural for their commitment to providing thousands of oral care products for children living in poverty who COVID-19 has impacted,” said Jen Armstrong, COO of Baby2Baby. “After months of lost income from the pandemic, the families in our program are struggling to provide the most essentials like toothbrushes and toothpaste to their children, and it is donations like this that allow families to reallocate their limited funds to other critical needs, food or even rent.”

Grin Natural’s responding grin was, well, never more natural…

“With an increased dependency on local charities to deliver on their mission and a rise in displaced low-income families due to the pandemic. We believe that low-income families should not have to sacrifice their health because of their socio-economic status,” said Tara. “Therefore, what better time to start this joint partnership than in February, which aligns with our mission to curve oral health literacy and to join Baby2Baby in their mission to provide families in need with oral care essentials.”

The timing of the commitment between Grin Natural products and Baby2Baby arrives during the celebration of National Children’s Dental Health Month in February. The NCDHM promotes the benefits of good oral health and dental care hygiene habits among children. Grin Natural plans to deliver $50,000 worth of products to Baby2Baby over the next 6 months and they require everyone’s support to share a grin. Through said campaign every purchase made on grinnatural.com allows them to give oral-care products to the families living in poverty supported through Baby2Baby.

While Grin Natural continues to make big waves across eight international markets with endorsements from dentists and healthcare practitioners, Tara is committed to creating all-natural oral care for happy, healthy families with all-natural toothpaste eco-friendly oral care essentials for kids and adults. She is also committed to giving back as part of the organization’s mission, bringing more families products irrespective of their social-economic status.
Related: How This Dental Care Center Leveraged AI Robots & Technology To Combat the Pandemic

loading…

Source: http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/entrepreneur/latest/~3/PVoQX4rAlo0/367173

how-a-big-idea-and-a-big-heart-can-come-together-for-big-success

Continue Reading

Entrepreneur

Melinda Gates Had Been Seeking a Divorce Since 2019 After Bill’s Meetings With Jeffrey Epstein

Melinda Gates reportedly considered divorce for two years before officially filing for one.

Published

on

Melinda Gates reportedly considered divorce for two years before officially filing for one.

Grow Your Business, Not Your Inbox

Stay informed and join our daily newsletter now!

May 10, 2021 3 min read

This story originally appeared on Business Insider

Melinda Gates had been meeting with divorce lawyers for years before announcing her split with Bill Gates, The Wall Street Journal reported.

The two have been married for 27 years and announced on May 3 that their union would come to an end.

“After a great deal of thought and a lot of work on our relationship, we have made the decision to end our marriage,” a joint statement posted to Twitter said. “Over the last 27 years, we have raised three incredible children and built a foundation that works all over the world to enable all people to lead healthy, productive lives.”

Related: Bill Gates Warns That a Next Pandemic Could Be 10 times Worse

The decision rocked the philanthropic and tech communities, but The Journal’s reporting indicates it was a long time coming.

Melinda Gates was said to have been in conversation with divorce lawyers since 2019 before finally filing for divorce.

She reportedly worked with lawyers across multiple firms to fix a marriage she went on to call “irretrievably broken.”

Neither Bill nor Melinda Gates has said what led to the split. The Journal, however, mentioned previously reported concerns that Melinda Gates was said to have had about her husband’s connection to Jeffrey Epstein.

Sources told The Daily Beast last week that Bill Gates’ willingness to meet as early as 2011 with Epstein — who by then had already pleaded guilty to soliciting an underage girl in 2008 — “still haunts” Melinda Gates.

According to the outlet, the couple met with Epstein in New York City at his Upper East Side mansion in September 2013. Sources told The Daily Beast that soon after the meeting, Melinda Gates told friends of her discomfort during the encounter. Several people close to the couple reportedly said she was “furious” over her husband’s relationship with Epstein. Bill Gates told The Journal in 2019 that he was not friends with Epstein.

Documents reviewed by The Journal say that after The New York Times first reported in October 2019 that Bill Gates had met more than once with Epstein, Melinda Gates called her advisors multiple times.

The two said in their joint Twitter statement that they planned to continue to work together on the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

“We continue to share a belief in that mission,” they said.

Insider’s Erin Snodgrass contributed to this report.

Source: http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/entrepreneur/latest/~3/sW0hLkCTerI/371499

melinda-gates-had-been-seeking-a-divorce-since-2019-after-bill's-meetings-with-jeffrey-epstein

Continue Reading

Title

Techcrunch4 hours ago

Maybe SPACs were a bad idea after all – TechCrunch

Welcome back to The TechCrunch Exchange, a weekly startups-and-markets newsletter for your weekend enjoyment.

Techcrunch6 hours ago

Leveling the playing field – TechCrunch

There is an atmosphere of collaboration, not competition, around the creation of hardware for gamers within the assistive technology community.

ZDNET9 hours ago

A useful Android privacy feature that most people have never heard of

Android has a useful hidden feature that the iPhone doesn't.

Coinpedia12 hours ago

Polygon (Matic) Price Continues to Rise Amidst Market Correction!

The MATIC price forecasts are positive as a token supporting such a critical feature right now. After the Ethereum scaling

Reuters14 hours ago

Chip shortage to hit about 100,000 Mazda vehicles in 2021

Mazda Motor Corp (7261.T) said on Friday it expects a semiconductor crunch to affect around 100,000 of the Japanese automaker's...

Blockchain news1 day ago

Ethereum Gas Fees Surge to a Monthly High, Supply on Exchanges Continues to Decline

Ethereum's total fees has hit a monthly high of 746.026 ETH.

CNBC2 days ago

Disney misses on subscriber expectations, parks revenue still hurt by Covid restrictions

Disney+ had been bolstering the company's success as it was losing out on business from Covid restrictions, but it seems...

Entrepreneur2 days ago

Let Go of Assumptions and Reset Your Brand Mindset

Many small businesses make the mistake of trying to please everyone. You can't, so stop trying.

Cointelegraph2 days ago

Polkadot-centric derivatives exchange raises $6.4M in seed funding

The successful private investment round highlights growing conviction in the Polkadot ecosystem.

Ventureburn2 days ago

Hack the Normal winning innovators announced

The Hack the Normal online hackathon has announced the winning innovations in each of the event's categories for this year's...

Review

    Select language

    Trending