Connect with us

Ethicalmarkets

Banks In The Cross-Hairs!! | EthicalMarkets.com

Published

on

“Ethical Markets thanks these young activists for keeping the big issues of biodiversity and climate change on the agendas of traditional finance!!  We hope they can also help us circulate our “TRANSFORMING FINANCE“ statement, now signed by 100 professionals, launched in 2010 see www.ethicalmarkets.com.

~Hazel Henderson, Editor“

We did it!

Last Thursday, some of the world’s biggest banks met in Paris for a ‘Climate Finance Day’, a huge public relations stunt designed to convince investors that the financial institutions are climate-friendly.

Thanks to SumOfUs members like you, our friends at Reclaim Finance, Canopée and Friends of the Earth were there to call out their Amazon-killing investments with a huge billboard, right at the entrance of the event!

Activists from Reclaim Finance, Canopée and Friends of the Earth in front of the entrance of the

Climate Finance Day event 

Our friend Lucie from Reclaim Finance, who attended the event, said the billboard was THE topic of discussion for participants. As people filed into the building, journalists and clients alike were snapping photos of the action and sharing it on social media.

Our message was unmissable — and you can bet HSBC, BlackRock, AXA and the rest of the Amazon-destroying banks are worried.

This action was just the first public warning to Amazon-wrecking banks. So far, only 5 financial institutions have told us they’re ready to take action on soy deforestation, and none of them have committed to actually stopping financing to the companies clear cutting the Amazon.

Indigenous communities have nurtured the Amazon for thousands of years. They’re paying for these investment deals with their lives. And with your ongoing support, we can keep powering this campaign to help save these communities.

Hazel, will you support this fight with a one-off gift?

Activists from Reclaim Finance, Canopée and Friends of the Earth in front of the entrance of the Climate Finance Day event 

Stay tuned, we’ll tell you more very soon!

Source: https://www.ethicalmarkets.com/third-tcfd-status-report-shows-progress-highlights-need-for-greater-climate-related-disclosures-and-transparency-3/

[ALT0]

Ethicalmarkets

Maintaining Momentum to COP26 for the Net-Zero Transition

Published

on

“Ethical Markets is proud to partner with Climate Action in this weeklong Sustainable Innovation Forum. All sessions will be recorded and available on-demand. Meanwhile send in your questions, as we have, particularly for Day 5 on Friday on Agriculture and Land. We can all learn a lot from these discussions! Enjoy!

~Hazel Henderson, Editor “

16 – 20 November 2020 | Live Online Daily | 2:30-5:30 PM CET / 1:30-4:30 PM GMT

COP26 has been delayed. Environmental diplomacy put on hold. We cannot postpone the climate emergency. Momentum on climate action must be maintained.

2020 was meant to usher in a decade of action in our fight against the climate crisis. Governments and businesses were poised to raise their ambition but instead have been fighting a difference crisis – the global pandemic.

As economies begin to rebuild, sectors reopen and society returns the decisions governments and businesses make today and the industries we support will decide the future we create.

Over the past decade the Sustainable Innovation Forum has been used as a platform by the United Nations, Heads of State, Government Ministers, Climate Experts and Chief Executives, to communicate leadership, raise ambition and forge stronger relationships between the public and private sectors.

Climate Action has curated a thoroughly researched and validated programme aligned to the key trends and challenges we face in our collective fight against climate change. The programme is design to build momentum on climate action ahead of COP26 in 2021.

Source: https://www.ethicalmarkets.com/maintaining-momentum-to-cop26-for-the-net-zero-transition/

[ALT0]

Continue Reading

Ethicalmarkets

Source of Wonder-Video Series | EthicalMarkets.com

Published

on

Re-watch available

If you missed any of the 4 days of the Source of Wonder then click on the videos to re-play the event.

See the time codes in the video description under each video to watch a specific speaker on that day.

We are currently working on making the individual video contributions public to everyone, so don’t forget to subscribe to our YouTube channel so you would be notified when we release a new video!

The Source of Wonder is hosted by Masami & Hiroo Saionji of the Goi Peace Foundation and Ervin Laszlo of the Club of Budapest – the three co-initiators of the Fuji Declaration.

Check out our Facebook event page for more information!

Source: https://www.ethicalmarkets.com/source-of-wonder-video-series/

[ALT0]

Continue Reading

Ethicalmarkets

Future of Black America | EthicalMarkets.com

Published

on

Future of Black America

PRESS RELEASE

For Immediate Release

November 6, 2020

UNESCO will host a Futures Literacy Lab focusing on the Future of Black America, taking place from 10 November 2020 – 12 November 2020, online through a virtual platform.

Since 2012, UNESCO as a global laboratory of ideas has been pioneering efforts to overcome ‘poverty-of-the-imagination’ and empower people everywhere to grasp the power of images of the future. Futures Literacy Labs, are a practical, field-tested approach that deploys action-learning to cultivate the capacity of participants to source and use images of the future. FLLs enable participants to become futures literate, to be able to ask new questions about the future of Black America, and to be ready to build Futures Literacy in their communities.

This Futures Literacy Lab was initiated by the African American Future Society (Yul Anderson) with the UNESCO Futures Literacy team (Riel Miller and Kwamou Eva Feukeu) the International Monetary Fund (economist Sandile Hlatshwayo); and Black Professionals in International Affairs (BPIA). This Lab has been codesigned and will be facilitated by participatory futurists Dr Lonny Brooks (Afrorithms) and Dr Claire Nelson (The Futures Forum). Please see the attached invitation for details of the event. Please note that the Lab will take place entirely via the Internet using a telepresence platform. You will need a functioning internet connection, computer, microphone and camera. Please make sure you can be present all three days and we look forward to your participation.

For Additional information Contact:

Yul Anderson, [email protected] , Kwamou Eva Feukeu [email protected] AND Sandile Hlatshwayo [email protected]

Additional Info

UNESCO’s Management of Social Transformations (MOST) Programme is a unique driver for advancing holistic capacity-building initiatives on social transformations and for building bridges between social scientific knowledge, public policies and society. With decades of experience in fostering future studies and as a global laboratory of ideas, UNESCO’s Futures Literacy initiative is premised on the idea that in an open, non-deterministic and complex emergent world, actions intended to direct societal development must incorporate a range of different ways of using the future. In other words, without more advanced approaches to using the future, there is a significant risk of excessive reliance on past models of industrialization, urbanisation, and economic growth; and the illusion that tomorrow can be engineered according to a technically determined blueprint.

FL seeks to build people’s capacity to discern and make sense of complex emergence, and Futures Literacy Laboratories (FLL) are innovative learning-by-doing processes, with a proven track record from around the world, for achieving three outcomes. First, participants start a learning voyage, becoming acquainted with the different reasons and methods for imagining the future. They become more futures literate. Second, by exposing the assumptions that shape images of the future participants in a Lab are able to ask new questions about an important topic, like the future of Black America. Such new questions, rethinking the nature of the problems and discovering the boundaries that define inside the box thinking from outside-the-box, have direct implications for policy, strategy and decision-makers. And third, running FLL provides detailed insights into the sources of what people imagine and why, thereby enabling a better understanding of the origins of people’s fears and hopes.

In practical terms FLL invite people to share what they know, and since no one knows the future we all begin the same and depend on our imaginations to invent images of tomorrow. The lab involves plenary sessions and working together in smaller breakout groups with peer facilitators who will guide participants through the collective intelligence knowledge creation process, allowing us to take advantage of our ability to negotiate shared meaning. The process is custom designed to enable participants to discover and specify, by moving from tacit to explicit and from conventional to newly invented, the anticipatory assumptions and related narratives they use to perceive and act in the present. By inventing, expressing, and testing their imaginations participants become better able to use-the-future.

Source: https://www.ethicalmarkets.com/future-of-black-america/

[ALT0]

Continue Reading

Title

Reuters2 days ago

Eco-friendly sneaker maker Allbirds aims for $2 bln valuation in U.S. IPO

Eco-friendly sneaker maker Allbirds Inc said on Monday it aims to be valued at over $2 billion in its New...

ZDNET3 days ago

Comcast gave me good, precise news. The truth was precisely the opposite

Many companies believe that technology is perfect for customer service communication. Often, though, it just isn't.

Bioengineer6 days ago

Sex differences in COVID-19 outcomes

Credit: Mary Ann Liebert, Inc., publishers In a study of more than 10,600 adult patients hospitalized with COVID-19, women had

Techcrunch1 week ago

Resistant AI scores $16.6M for its anti-fraud fintech tools – TechCrunch

Resistant AI, which uses artificial intelligence to help financial services companies combat fraud and financial crime — selling tools to...

Techcrunch1 week ago

Facebook reportedly plans to change its name to focus on the metaverse – TechCrunch

Facebook is planning to rebrand the company with a new name to focus on building the metaverse, according to a...

Bioengineer1 week ago

UTHSC awarded $1.5 million HRSA grant for sexual assault nurse examiner training

Credit: UTHSC Memphis, Tenn. (June 16, 2021) - The University of Tennessee Health Science Center's College of Nursing has received

Techcrunch1 week ago

Does the NFT craze actually matter? – TechCrunch

Hello friends, and welcome back to Week in Review! Last week, we talked about Apple’s subscription addiction. This week, I’m...

CNBC2 weeks ago

Earnings

Corporate Company Earnings, Find Earnings Per Share and Earnings History Online

ZDNET2 weeks ago

Even computer experts think ending human oversight of AI is a very bad idea

The UK government is thinking of scrapping the right to ask for a human to review decisions made entirely by...

Crunchbase2 weeks ago

The Briefing: Hailo Lands $136M Series C

Crunchbase News' top picks of the news to stay current in the VC and startup world.

Review

    Select language

    Trending